Echo School Awards

As the school year ends The Liverpool Echo and exec partners Excell Supply hosted the 5th Annual Echo Schools Awards at Liverpool John Moores University. The achievements of Merseyside’s outstanding teachers, schools, classes and projects were recognised at the awards afternoon, hosted by me and it was a real honour to be a part of it. Our local schools have proved that despite the challenges faced in the education sector, there is much to be proud of thanks to their hard work and determination.”

ECHO editor-in-chief Alastair Machray said: “It is our genuine pleasure and privilege to honour the wonderful and crucial work that teachers, pupils and support staff are carrying out across our region to make education here so strong.”

Meet our winners and finalists!

School Communication Award

Winner – PE Department Ridgeway High School

Shortlisted – Comms@ahs Alsop High

School Support Staff of the Year

Winner – Carole Foulds, St Ann’s CofE Primary School

Shortlisted – Lorna McKevitt, leamington Community Primary School

Tara Welsh, The Academy of St Francis Assisi

Healthy Living Award

Winner – Nurture Group, Alsop High

Shortlisted – Year 11 Humanutopia Heroes, Gateacre School

Student Teacher of the Year

Winner – Rosie Hazlehurst, Pensby High School

Shortlisted – Jessica Talbot, Chesterfield High School

Kimberley Nye, St John Bosco

Class/team of the Year

Winner – Year 6, Melling Primary School

Shortlisted – The Drama Club, The Academy of St Francis Assisi

Reception St Mary’s Catholic Primary

School in the Community Award

Winner – The BIG Little Library, Gateacre School

Shorlisted – South Wirral High School

Purple Class, Elleray Park School

Inspirational Teacher of the Year

Winner – Fiona McCann, St Hilda’s CE High School

Shortlisted – Stephen Metcalf, Ridgeway High School

Julie Pettener, Bebington High Sports College

Headteacher of the Year

Winner – Jason Roberts, Gateacre School

Shortlisted – Mike Kilbride, Birkenhead Sixth Form College

Stephanie Gough, Monksdown Primary School

Primary School of the Year

Winner – Northwood Community Primary School

Shortlisted – Hudson Primary School and Children’s Centre

Our Lady & St Philomena’s Primary School

Winner – Finch Woods Academy

Shortlisted – Calderstones School

Gateacre School

Congratulations to everyone and be sure to nominate a deserving school next year!


    Post Author:

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *